Tim Brewer, Ed.D., President

Dr. Tim Brewer assumed the position as the President of Mitchell Community College on March 1, 2012.  He previously was the Executive Vice President and Chief Academic Officer at Mitchell. Dr. Brewer came to Mitchell in 2005 as Vice President for Instruction with primary responsibilities for academic programs, institutional effectiveness, institutional and program accreditation, the Mooresville Center and library services.  Prior to his service at Mitchell, Dr. Brewer was Executive Director of the State Board of Community Colleges where he led the senior administrative staff in all matters related to the State Board of Community Colleges.  In addition, he worked as executive assistant to Martin Lancaster, then president of the North Carolina Community College System. Dr. Brewer received a doctorate in Education, Higher Education Administration, Adult and Community College Education, and a master’s degree in Recreation Resources from North Carolina State University. He received a bachelor’s degree in Recreation Administration from Mars Hill College.

Gerald Hyde, Vice President, Accounting and CFO

Gerald Hyde joined Mitchell Community College in 2017 as vice president for accounting and CFO. He is responsible for financial services at Mitchell. Hyde most recently served as the Vice President of Administrative Services at Mayland Community College. Previously, he was the Controller at Western Piedmont Community College and the Assistant State Auditor with the NC Office of the State Auditor. Hyde holds an BA in Accounting from Lenoir-Rhyne University and an MBA from Gardner-Webb University.

Carol Johnson, Vice President, Workforce Development and Continuing Education

Carol Johnson joined Mitchell Community College in 1974, and currently serves as vice president for continuing education and workforce development. She is responsible for basic skills, customized training, occupational training, small business services and community service programs. Through the years, Johnson has held the positions of coordinator of the learning lab, director of basic skills, occupational extension coordinator and dean of continuing education. Johnson earned an associate in arts degree from Mitchell College, a bachelor's degree from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte and a master's degree from Appalachian State University. She also earned an education specialist degree from Appalachian State University.

Daniel JJ McEachern Vice President, Ed.D., Student Services

Dr. McEachern joined Mitchell Community College in 2021 and currently serves as the Vice President of Student Services. He provides leadership for Admissions, Advising, Financial Aid, Accessibility Services, Career Services, Student Life, Marketing, and the Mooresville Campus. Dr. McEachern recently served as the Dean of Enrollment Management at Central Piedmont Community College in Charlotte, North Carolina and Director of Enrollment Services at Santa Fe College in Gainesville, Florida. Dr. McEachern holds a Doctorate in Community College Executive Leadership from Wingate University. His dissertation focused on mentoring in higher education. He also earned a Master of Arts in Educational Leadership and a Bachelor of Arts in Media Studies, both from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

Randy Ledford, VP for Learning

Randy Ledford joined Mitchell in October of 2022. He is responsible for curriculum instruction. Ledford most recently served as Vice President for Instruction at Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute.  He brings a broad array of leadership experiences to the role serving previously as a Vice President for Academics and Student Services at Mayland Community College, a Vice President for Student Services at Surry Community College, a Dean of Business, Engineering, and Technical Studies and a Department Chair of Mathematics at Davidson-Davie Community College, and a college Mathematics Instructor at Western Piedmont Community College. 

Mitchell Community College Board of Trustees

Trustee NameAppointing Agency
Year AppointedTerm Ends
Ralph L. Bentley, ChairBoard of Education1981June 30, 2026
William ThunbergBoard of Education2022June 30, 2025
Jonathan Byers, Sr.County Commission2014June 30, 2026
Kevin DonaldsonCounty Commission2019June 30, 2027
Michael HaireCounty Commission2021June 30, 2025
R. Stephen HillBoard of Education2010June 30, 2027
Shawn HugginsGovernor2019June 30, 2027
Constantine “Costi” KuttehGovernor2017June 30, 2025
David J. MeachemGovernor2018June 30, 2026
Amanda MooreGovernor2020June 30, 2024
Joseph H. TroutmanCounty Commission2000June 30, 2024
Leigh Whitfield, Vice ChairBoard of Education2016June 30, 2024
SGA PresidentSGA Presidentyearly