Mitchell Community College horizontal burgundy logo.

The Emergency Medical Science curriculum provides individuals with the knowledge, skills, and attributes to provide advanced emergency medical care as a paramedic for critical and emergent patients who access the emergency medical system and prepares graduates to enter the workforce.

Students will gain complex knowledge, competency, and experience while employing evidence-based practice under medical oversight, and serve as a link from the scene into the healthcare system. Graduates of this program may be eligible to take state and/or national certification examinations. 

The Emergency Medical Science Bridging Option is designed to allow a currently certified, non-degreed Paramedic to earn an Associate of Applied Science in Emergency Medical Science by completing course requirements identified outside of the paramedic subject area. This program of study provides the student an opportunity to enhance learning already achieved through continuing education for Paramedic. Coursework includes medical terminology, Biology, Mathematics, English, Humanities, and Social Sciences. Only Certified Paramedics are permitted in the Bridging Option. Contact the EMS Program Coordinator for prerequisites for admission requirements.

The Mitchell Community College Paramedic program has been issued a Letter of Review by the Committee on Accreditation of Educational Programs for the Emergency Medical Services Professions (CoAEMSP). This letter is NOT a CAAHEP accreditation status, it is a status signifying that a program seeking initial accreditation has demonstrated sufficient compliance with the accreditation standards through the Letter of Review Self Study Report (LSSR) and other documentation. Letter of Review is recognized by the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) for eligibility to take the National Registry’s Paramedic credentialing examination(s). However, it is NOT a guarantee of eventual accreditation.

To contact CoAEMSP: 214-703-8445 | (Opens in new window)

Have Questions?

Jim Larsen, EMS Program Chair

(704) 878-4365

Jennifer Loflin, Public Safety Administrative Assistant

(704) 978-5463

David Bullins, Director of Public Safety

(704) 978-5446