Truck Driver Training
Mitchell’s Truck Driver Training is in partnership with Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute.
This full-time program for Class A – CDL Truck Driver training is offered 5 days a week for 9 weeks.
**Important Dates (All Sessions MUST be attended)**
Orientation Date: New Schedule to be posted July 2023
Registration Date: New Schedule to be posted July 2023
Date of class: New Schedule to be posted July 2023
Course Cost: Registration and fees: $2000.00 Check, Cash, & Money Orders Accepted
**Scholarships available for Registration and fees only – contact Hedy Hedrick 704-878-4266 or Jean Manall 704-978-5494
Additional costs NOT included in the tuition and fees listed above are shown below.
Some of these costs are approximate and should only be used as a guide:
|DOT Physical||$60||Paid to physician||Due 1st day of classes|
|Pre-employment Drug Screen||$50||Paid to physician||Due 1st day of classes|
|MVR||$10.75||Paid to DMV||Optional but suggested|
|Class A Permit||$64.75||Paid to DMV||3rd week of class|
|CDL License||$107.50-5 years||Paid to DMV||Last week of class|
|Endorsements||$4.25 year||Paid to DMV||Purchased with license|
Note: A Medical Card and Long Form Physical will be issued to you at the time you take the DOT Physical. The Medical card is good for a maximum of 2 years to a minimum of 3 months (1 year required to enroll). Make sure the card is filled out completely and accurately with no corrections made on the card. Your medical card a copy of your driver’s license will be faxed to DMV in Raleigh on the first day of class. Approval will be entered into the DMV data base before you will be allowed to take the tests for your CDL permit at your local DMV.
Admission Requirements for the CDL Class at Mitchell Community College
You are required:
· Attend the opening day session at 8am January 4th
· Be at least 18 years old: Student graduates under 21 years old can drive only within North Carolina.
· Hold a valid North Carolina Driver’s License with no limiting restrictions.
· Be able to read and speak English well enough to take instructions from highway signs, to converse with officials, and complete the required reports. (FMCSR 391.11)
· Provide high school, GED, or college transcript or take a Reading Comprehension Test and score a minimum 8th grade reading level. The test is administered at Mitchell Community College prior to registration. Please bring an official copy of your test results with you to registration.
· Acquire a North Carolina Class A permit with no limiting restrictions before the highway-driving portion of your training or no later than hour 80 of the class.
· Pass a DOT physical and/or hold a valid (12 month minimum) DOT medical card: This should be completed by the 1st day of class. A current medical card is required to drive on the road.
· Complete and Pass a DOT drug screen by the 1st day of class. Negative results are required to get onto a truck and remain in class.
· Show proof of permanent residency: All immigrants must have proper paperwork.
Due to the strict requirements and restrictions of most trucking companies you must also have:
· A current Motor Vehicle Record with no convictions in the past 3 years of: DUI, refusal to take a chemical test, hit and run, leaving the scene of an accident, careless and reckless driving, a preventable accident or speeding 15 mph over the limit.
· No felony or major misdemeanor convictions in the past 5 years, based on completion of sentence.
Note: Meeting these requirements will not guarantee you a position as a driver
The course involves extensive training, divided into 3 parts. Examples of the training provided are show below
|Classroom||Range Driving||Road Driving|
|Air Brake Training||Basic Vehicle Control||Defensive Driving|
|CDL Permit and Endorsement Instruction||Coupling/Uncoupling||Different Roads and Conditions|
|Cargo Handling||Pre-trip Inspection||Loaded Trailers|
|Defensive Driving||Proper Backing Techniques||Vehicle Control|
|Driver Qualification||Proper use of clutch and gears||Observation of Highway Laws|
|Driver Wellness||Proper use of clutch and gears|
|Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations|
|Hours of Service and Map Reading|
At the conclusion of the class, our third party testers will administer the Class A-Commercial Driver License (CDL) final test.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I need a GED or high school diploma to enroll in the course?
No, but if you do not have a GED or high school diploma, you must pass a Reading Placement Test with a minimum 8th grade reading level or better to register. Scedule the test by calling the appropriate Testing Center. If testing at any college other that Mitchell, you must bring offical test results when registering.
Do you have financial aid assistance?
A truck driver training scholarship fund may be available to assist students with tuition costs, in additon to other scholarship opportunities. Call Hedy Hedrick at (704) 878-4266.
What type of equipment will be used during training?
We have a single axle day-cabs, tandem axle conventional sleeper tractors with 9 and 10 speed manual transmissions and 48 & 53 foot semi trailers. Several trailers will be loaded during the road driving portion of the class.
Do class schedules include night driving?
This training will not include night driving.
Do you do job placement?
We work with many major carriers and local trucking companies that will hire our graduates. Recruiters from these companies also visit our classes.
When should I have my DOT physical and pre-employment drug screen done?
A DOT physical and pre-employment drug screen should be completed prior to the first day of class. Note: A Medical Card and Long Form Physical will be issued to you at the time you take the DOT Physical. The Medical card is good for a maximum of 2 years to a minimum of 3 months (1 year required to enroll). Make sure the card is filled out completely and accurately with no corrections made on the card. Your medical card a copy of your driver’s license will be faxed to DMV in Raleigh on the first day of class. Approval will be entered into the DMV data base before you will be allowed to take the tests for your CDL permit at your local DMV.
Do I have to get my permit before I enroll in the class?
No, the first several days of class are spent in the classrom preparing you to get your permit, but you must have your permit before our 135 of the class or you will be dropped.
Do I have to do my final road test for CDL at the DMV?
No, at the conclusion of class, our third party testers will administer the CDL final test.
What location is certifed by the Professional Truck Driver Institute (PTDI)?
The Continuing Education and Workforce Development Center located at 701 W. Front Street, Statesville NC 28677 is certified by PTDI.
Licensure: Authorization granted to Mitchell Community College to provide instruction within another state does not imply or provide uarantees of any kind that an individual will be granted professional licensure by another state as a result of completing coursework at Mitchell or receiving professional licensure in North Carolina. It is the sole responsibility of the individual/student to determmine whether another college or license-awarding agency in another state will accept Mitchell coursework and/or award licensure through a reciprocity agreement with the State of North Carolina.
For additional information contact:
(704) 878 4266